“Yes”

When my husband told me he wanted to have a blog as part of our new website, I said, “Great, you do that.” Then he suggested I have one too. I said, “Nope, not interested.” He encouraged me telling me what valuable things I had to share and I said, “yea, yea, yea…. no thanks.” He could tell I was pretty much slamming the door on that idea so, in his wisdom… he backed off to let the higher powers deal with my stubborn heart. The truth is, I like my privacy. For me, a blog would be like sharing my diary and not just with a few trusted close friends. Heck, anyone can read what I write. I like to unveil my moments of vulnerability strategically, and only with a trusted few. Besides, it’s easier to share those moment of the heart when I’m feeling on top of my game. After all, I am a women and my moods can change like the weather. Some days are for dancing on the mountain tops and others are for hiding in a hot bath with lots of expensive chocolate. My aversion to an “open to the whole universe” blog is the very thought that I could be hiding in the tub with my chocolate and at that very moment, someone could be reading about my mountain top “you can conquer the world,” moment. That could create a problem. I might have to be vulnerable when I don’t feel like it. Or, worse yet, I might be challenged by my own words of faith when I’m just not in the mood. I figure the last thing I need is to open that can of worms.

Then, as often happens in my life, I am reminded that my life is not my own. After all, I gave it away when I was 13. I surrendered my life to my Creator as a skinny seventh grader at a friends church camp. I told Him He could have my life… all that I was and ever would become. I asked Him to mold me like clay to use me for His purpose on this earth. I wanted all of who He is and I was willing to give Him all of who I was. It was a life changing moment. I made a vow then that has impacted every step of my life since. So… thirty years later, there is a nudging in my heart. There is a still quiet voice somewhere deep inside and it reminds me of that promise I made. I can hear Him say, “Are you Mine?” “Are you still clay in My hands?” “Do you trust Me enough to live your faith out loud?” I’ve been around long enough to know that when I feel heaven asking of me, there is only one answer that God can bless, and that, is “Yes Lord.” Besides, it seems He’s been asking a lot of me lately so this,  is small change.

I’ve never really been good at the art of small talk. Some people are. They are great at parties. They can make people feel at ease or make them laugh. If I were a little more like that, I think blogging would be easier. But I’m not. I like the deep stuff. It’s just the way I am. So here I am… with my heart wide open to you and the whole universe. I am ready to share this journey with you. It is the journey of my heart in this life. It’s a journey about my faith, and lack of it. It’s a journey about God’s faithfulness and how it is that I have come to that conclusion… that God is faithful. My journey began 43 years ago. Today though, I invite you in. Even to the uncomfortable places that I often reserve for very few. It’s not that I think I have such greatness in me that your life will be changed by my words. It’s not about that. It’s really about me being obedient to that promise I made some thirty years ago to my Maker. Nevertheless, I do trust that somewhere along the way, someone will be encouraged. Someone will be strengthened in their faith. Someone will not feel alone. And that, is enough for me.

You know, heaven is always speaking. Have you dared to listen? Have you thought about what heaven is calling you to this day? It might be something quite simple. Our God uses the simple things to confound the wise. What an adventure it is to follow where the Creator of every star in heaven is leading. Think about it. Would you join me? It starts with, “Yes, Lord.”

Comments
16 Responses to ““Yes””
  1. natethegr8whoateacorncake says:

    This post is great. I am glad that no one can edit it, because that would be a shame. 🙂

  2. dawn rowe says:

    Well done my friend. It is interesting that just the last few days I have been thinking that it would be good if you opened yourself up more to others to share your wisdom. I guess God knows what he is doing huh? He is stretching you and it is a good thing. Your communications degree will shine through your blogs- you are gifted in this area my friend, and you are going to touch lives through technology, through the pulpit, and through daily life of being a mom. Your obedience is inspiring. May God bless you with peace and … joy.

  3. natethegr8whoateacorncake says:

    Moe will kill me, but she rehearses items of small talk with me before going to functions. She becomes paralyzed at the thought of engaging in it. Thanks for sharing, we both have a lot to learn from you.

  4. Gloria Wlasiuk says:

    This piece Lori has me so very proud of our daughter. I sit here with kleenex tissues wiping my eyes as the tears fall. Why can’t I read it without wet eyes? I too gave my heart to the Lord many years ago. So if it has this affect on me imagine how it will affect someone who does not yet know our Lord, and HIS love for those who follow HIM? Keep sharing, you will touch lives.

  5. pa says:

    I wish I had some great words of wisdom or faith, but your blog begs the question……How many times has the Lord spoken to me? Did I not hear? Did I not listen? Did I Ignore Him? I see in your lives the true dedication and love that has inspired me to know Him more. I am learning to listen. Love pa

    • Lori Bradeen says:

      Actually I don’t know if I have ever seen greater faith than how you and mom are walking through your “stage 4” cancer. Never a moment of pity, always thankful for every day, trusting in both God’s goodness and sovereignty, I want to be like you two. Love me

  6. jojo says:

    I just went to dictionary.com because I was speechless. I came up with ‘eloquent’ because your blog was powerful, moving, and well spoken. Lori, in my life your wisdom has been profound. i’m excited for other’s to see what you are made of. Plus, it will make me look good cause I’m your sister, like when we were in college and people thought I was you so when I walked across campus people said, “HI Lori!” and I looked popular. Works for me!

  7. Lynnie says:

    Thank you for doing the blog. It is already become a motivater and encourager for me. God has used you to speak from His heart to me through your poems, songs and private chit chat. Love you sis!

  8. Auntie Edie says:

    Just became aware of your blog through your Mom and Dad. Fantastic piece of writing. I think your story about RED should be printed in “Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul”. As old as I am, I don’t have the wisdom of someone as young as you. I can read right into your beautiful soul. I know you will touch many hearts. Best wishes on your journey in starting your new chuch. I am proud to be your “Auntie”

  9. Kim stepard says:

    You have no idea how much I need this right now. Thanks Lor.

    PS……..still crying 🙂

  10. Cara Mirau says:

    Lori, thank you so much for sharing your life experiences, your heart and your wisdom. Your life and who you are in Christ is such an inspiration to me, as well as so many others. You have been such an example of a Godly woman. Thank you for being the very person that God made you. You are gentle and kind with a quiet strength. I look forward to reading your next writings.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Precious words. I came back to read it again today. Thank you, Lor

Leave a Reply

